My Top 10 Most Anticipated Films of 2017 – Part 1

Hey everyone!

Today I’m giving you my top 10 most anticipated films of 2017! It may be a tad late, but as none of these films have released yet, my picks are still good. I have to admit it was unusually hard coming up with 10 films that I really wanted to see this year. Unlike in past years, I found the slate of films very limited. However, there are a few I simply can’t wait for. There’s so much to say about these films, so I’ve split this post into 2 parts. Here are numbers 10-6. . .

10.) Justice League

To kick off this list, we have the most recognizable super-heroes in the world in the epic team-up, Justice League. Just knowing that we’re going to see Batman, Wonder Woman, Superman, The Flash, Aquaman, and Cyborg in the same film boggles the mind! That’s more than enough to deserve a spot on this list.

So why is Justice League so low on the totem pole? Two words. Zack Synder. Sorry, but neither Man of Steel nor Batman Vs. Superman: Dawn of Justice was very good, in my opinion. I don’t have much faith in Zack after these 2, primarily because of their tone. They’re too dark. Where’s the fun? Where’s the humor? Marvel has Tony Stark. Who does D.C. have?

Well, possibly, The Flash. The one bright spot in the Justice League trailer is Ezra Miller as the Scarlet Speedster. If you’ve seen the first trailer for Justice League, you can see that he is (hopefully) going to be the film’s comic relief. In these movies, we desperately need someone funny, and I think Ezra’s the one to do that. He may be the only thing that’s good about this super-hero team-up.

If not, may the movie be like him and speed to the credits!

9.) Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets/ The Greatest Showman

Now I know I’m cheating here, but these two films are about even on my anticipation scale. One interested me because it looked cool, the other because it sounded cool. Likewise, I know very little about both of them so I’m tentative to rank them any higher.

First: Valerian. This sci-fi film is based off a French comic book series published from 1967-2010. Valerian, and his partner Laureline, travel through time with a dose of humor and politics thrown into the mix. I’ve never read the comic books myself, so my official introduction to the series was really through the trailer. If you haven’t seen the trailer, please do. It’s stunning! The Beatles’ song “Because” plays in the background, delivering a hazy, stoner-vibe to the sci-fi action. Plus, hey, there’s Rihanna!

Overall, the special effects look fantastic and I love knowing that there’s an original sci-fi summer blockbuster to get excited about this year. The fact that it’s directed by Luc Besson, who directed The Fifth Element is a definite plus. Let’s hope Valerian is more that and less Jupiter Ascending.

Now let me introduce to you. . .The Greatest Showman! Starring Hugh Jackman as P.T. Barnum, this musical centers on P.T.’s rise to fame and the subsequent creation of the Ringling Brothers and Barnum & Bailey circus. Talk about weird timing! The circus is officially closing this year after 146 years in business. What a coincidence! Hopefully, the film will be a fitting tribute to the circus’s monumental impact as well as to its creator.

The reason I’m intrigued? It’s a musical, that’s why! This could have just been a regular biopic and it still would have been worth a watch, but the fact that it’s a musical greatly enhances its appeal. Hugh has a solid background in musicals, from his days performing The Boy from Oz on Broadway and then, more recently, in the film Les Miserables. Combined with a circus aesthetic, this could be the kind of visually-arresting showstopper that Moulin Rouge and Chicago were back in the early 2000s.

A mind-blowing sci-fi flick and a big-top musical. Which do you think is going to rule the cinema?

8.) Despicable Me 3

Despicable Me is a warm-hearted, funny, charming animated film that introduced the world (and me) to the lovable, goofy Gru. After a sequel and a prequel, Gru is back in Despicable Me 3, facing off against a new foe — Benjamin Bratt. Oh, wait no, sorry! I mean, Balthazar Bratt, an 80s child star who seeks WORLD DOMINATION! Not only that, Gru discovers he has a long-lost twin brother. . .Dru! Plus, the minions will be getting into some shenanigans as well.

PHEW! That’s a lot to digest! I love Gru, but even I think the film’s already a little top-heavy. However, the real problem I have is something that’s stemmed from the beginning of the series. You know how they say Marvel has a villain problem? The people love Loki, as do I, but they find Marvel’s other antagonists unremarkable. Outside of Gru, that’s how I feel about Despicable Me‘s villains. They’re kind of loony, without being overtly funny. I mean, I like Vector, but was he memorable? What about Scarlet Overkill? Or El Macho? The truth is I actually had to look up their names because I couldn’t remember them. That’s how little they stuck with me.

Maybe Balthazar Bratt will break the curse. Either way, as long as Gru’s there, I’m happy. Cue Pharrell!

7.) Let It Snow

No, this is not a Hallmark movie, although there is one that shares the same title. This Let it Snow is a film based on the popular YA novel of the same name. It focuses on 3 different stories, all centered around teens in love during the holidays. I read this book back in 2009 and I really liked it. Granted, the first story was the best, but I think it’d be fun to see all three stories weaved together into a feature film. Another Christmas film to add to my wintery collection!

Unfortunately, there is no poster or trailer yet, so it’s hard to judge a film like this. There’s not even a cast listed on IMDB yet! And it’s coming out in November! It makes me a little wary, but it should be a fun, romantic holiday treat regardless.

6. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

Another group of superheroes hits the big screen this year, this time, for a second round of hijinks. The Guardians of the Galaxy are back, and if you’ve seen the trailer, they look better than ever! More Laughs! More Action! More Baby Groot! It looks like a rollicking good time and I’m super-stoked for the next killer soundtrack. The first one was so good, I’ve listened to it many times. I can’t wait for more 70s classics!

Honestly, I think the only worry I have is the worry that everybody has about a sequel. Will it live up to its predecessor? But, hey, even if it doesn’t, a few great songs, some one-liners, and a couple of awesome superhero clashes in space will be enough. Just seeing these guys again is enough for me. As long as they stay true to who they are, it’s going to be great.

Summer officially begins May 5!

 

Next week, I’ll have my part 2 to this list. See you then!

 

One thought on “My Top 10 Most Anticipated Films of 2017 – Part 1

  1. Pingback: 5 Films to Put on Your Radar in 2017 | Pop Culture Grinch

Leave a Reply

